Image
Web marketing Weborama

Thanks to contextual targeting, Weborama targets its internet users and respect their interests

Par : Victor Lepoutre
16 May 2022
Temps de lecture : 4 min
Chapo

The upcoming disappearance of third-party cookies will create a paradigm shift in digital marketing, according to Mykim Chikli, Weborama's CEO for Europe, Africa and the Middle East. As it will soon no longer be possible to trace the Internet user from one site to another, advertisers have every interest in opting for semantic contextual targeting. This practice, developed by Weborama among others, targets the Internet user by the content of the pages he consults, deciphering…

In partnership with
Body

The Internet was developed for decades based on third-party cookies. Until then if you went on any website, a third party provider could place cookies on your browser to track your navigation from one site to another following your visit. It offered incredible possibilities of tracking with models pushed to the extreme and cappings (limits of display of an ad for the same Internet user) not always well respected. With the end of third-party cookies already effective on Safari and Firefox, Google Chrome scheduled for the end of 2023, all of this will then be impossible.Without third-party cookies we will not be able to track an internet user from a website to another. It indicates a change of paradigme in the activation of campaigns, and in their measurement” specifies Myrima Chikli. “ With this new system, the advertisers will have to focus on customer knowledge, through the use of insight and market research.

Learn about the internet user by the content viewed

In a world without third-party cookies, alternative solutions exist to discover the interests of an internet user and offer him targeted publicity. The contextual targeting and the semantic contextual targeting are two solutions that allow targeting an internet user in a more precise way. The first solution allows us to discover the interest of the user by the theme of the page he’s consulting (for example energy). The second allows an analysis more precisely, on the context of the content of the webpage (what energy are we talking of ? solar, electric, etc.) “At Weborama, specialized in the semantic contextual targeting, we go very far in our pages analysis, we do not track the internet user” explains Myrima Chikli. “Our semantic contextual targeting solution is also an answer for consentless inventory, when the user refuses to accept cookies when visiting a site for the first time. This increased from 16% to 30% between March and December 2021”..

Thanks to semantic contextual targeting, offer more coherent content with the needs of the internet user

Before, a campaign using third-party cookies posted a recurring publicity to an internet user, based on his last website consultations. This advertisement would appear on different websites, even, after the acquisition of the needed product, that could appear as deceiving for the user. With the end of third-party cookies that will take place in 2023 on Chrome, the web user will not be tracked again, explains Mykim Chikli. New tools like the semantic AI, offered by Weborama, analyze the content of the page. Marketing campaigns will only appear on pages linked with the searched product. “If I have an interest in a garden table, and that the website of targeted by my campaign has a garden table to sell, then the campaign will be activated but only on the pages linked with the object, like a web page linked on your house exteriors or your house furniture” continues the general director of Weborama. The semantic contextual targeting also allows to offer complimentary content to the user. If he consults an automobile website, he can have some information on hybride cars or content on the ecological bonus, solutions to change his old car. “There again there is no tracking” specifies Mykim Chikli. “Once the user has quit the website, the campaign will not further be visible. However, if he makes further research on the government bonus we will be able to target him more precisely in his next visit.

Well-prepared advertisers …

If Google has postponed the suppression of third-party cookies for a year in its navigator, the web giant is no less prepared for this digital revolution. It organize in several months the Privacy Sandbox, which goal is to develop tracking systems more respectful of our private life. Weborama, as many web actors, participate in this program and see that advertisers are particularly well informed on the end of the third-party cookies. "Not everyone is aware, however, of the end of universal IDs, which make it possible to track the Internet user through the sites he visits and the devices he uses, via his email address," notes Mykim Chikli.

… And less intrusive content

With the goal to offer less intrusive advertising content to Internet users, Weborama is developing innovative content tools, thanks to the acquisition of the company AdWays. InVideo, the name of this new format, analyzes a video stream to offer advertising to the Internet user at the most opportune moments. InVideo shows itself most appropriately in numerous live videos, specially on sport events. When the users watch Roland-Garros for example, they don’t wish to have pre-roll or mid-roll during a decisive point. “With InVideo, we analyze the player, we look at the context, and we post advertisements around without interrupting the match. It’s like having banners around the tennis court!” explains Mykim Chikli. The internet user is then free to click on the banner, interrupt the match and then go back. A way for Weborama to be more respectful of the users’ choices and their private life, and still offer innovative formats boosting the performances of their campaigns.

Envie de nous partager vos insights ?
Profile picture for user VLpoutre
Victor
Lepoutre
Content Manager
Most read

Image
Web marketing Weborama

Grâce au ciblage contextuel, Weborama cible les internautes en respectant leurs intérêts

Par : Victor Lepoutre
16 mai 2022
Temps de lecture : 4 min
Chapo

La disparition prochaine des cookies tiers va engendrer un changement de paradigme dans le marketing digital selon Mykim Chikli, CEO de Weborama pour l’Europe, l’Afrique et le Moyen-Orient. Ne pouvant bientôt plus tracer l’internaute d’un site à un autre, les annonceurs ont tout intérêt à opter pour le ciblage contextuel sémantique. Cette pratique développée, entre autres, par Weborama cible l’internaute par le contenu des pages qu’il consulte, décryptage..

En partenariat avec
Body

Le web s’est développé depuis des années sur la base de cookies tiers. Jusqu’ici si vous alliez sur le site d’un éditeur, un prestataire tiers pouvait déposer des cookies sur votre navigateur pour tracker votre navigation d’un site à l’autre suite à votre visite. Cela offrait des fonctionnalités infinies de ciblage et de reciblage avec des modèles poussés à l'extrême et des cappings (limites d’affichage d’une publicité pour un même internaute) pas toujours bien respectés. Avec la fin des cookies tiers, déjà effectifs sur Safari et Firefox et prévue pour fin 2023 sur Google Chrome, tout cela ne sera plus possible. “Sans les cookies tiers on ne pourra plus tracer l’internaute d’un site à l’autre. Cela indique un changement de paradigme dans l’activation des campagnes, et dans leur mesure” indique Mykim Chikli. “Avec ce nouveau système, les annonceurs devront privilégier la connaissance client, par l’utilisation d’insight et de market research

Connaître l’internaute par le contenu qu’il consulte

Dans un monde sans cookies tiers, des solutions alternatives existent pour découvrir les intérêts d’un internaute et lui proposer de la publicité ciblée. Le ciblage contextuel, et le ciblage contextuel sémantique sont deux solutions qui permettent de cibler un internaute de manière plus précise. La première, permet de découvrir les intérêts de l’internaute par la thématique de la page qu’il consulte (par exemple l’énergie). La deuxième permet une analyse encore plus précise, sur le contexte du contenu de cette page (de quelle énergie parle-t-on, énergie solaire, électrique etc..). “Chez Weborama, spécialiste du ciblage contextuel sémantique, on va très loin dans l’analyse des pages, on ne traque pas l’internaute” explique Mykim Chikli. “Notre solution de ciblage contextuel sémantique est également la solution à l’inventaire consentless, lorsque l’internaute refuse d’accepter les cookies lorsqu’il visite un site pour la première fois. Celui ci est passé de 16% à 30% entre mars et décembre 2021”.

Grâce au ciblage contextuel sémantique, proposez du contenu plus cohérent avec les besoins de l’internaute

Auparavant, une campagne qui utilisaient des cookies tiers affichait une publicité récurrente à l’internaute, basée sur ces dernières consultations de sites. Cette publicité revenait sur d’autres sites consultés, même après achat de l’objet recherché, ce qui pouvait se révéler décevant pour l’internaute. Avec la fin des cookies tiers qui prendra effet fin 2023 sur Chrome, l’internaute ne sera plus traqué, explique Mykim Chikli. Des outils comme l'IA sémantique, proposée par Weborama, analysent le contenu de la page d’un éditeur. De ce fait, la campagne marketing apparaîtra uniquement sur les pages en lien avec l’objet recherché. “Si je m’intéresse à une table de jardin, et que le site que cible ma campagne à une table de jardin à vendre, alors la campagne s’activera mais uniquement sur les pages en lien avec cet objet, comme une page en rapport avec l’extérieur ou comment meubler sa maison” explique la directrice générale de Weborama. Le ciblage contextuel sémantique permet également de proposer du contenu complémentaire à l’internaute. Si celui-ci consulte un site automobile par exemple, il peut se voir proposer pendant sa visite des informations sur les voitures hybrides, du contenu sur la prime écologique proposée par le gouvernement ou encore une solution pour la reprise de son ancienne voiture. “La encore, il n’y a pas de tracking” précise Mykim Chikli. “Une fois que l’internaute quitte le site, la campagne ne lui sera plus proposée. En revanche, s’il fait une recherche sur la prime du gouvernement ou un sujet précis. Nous pourrons le cibler plus en détail lors de sa prochaine visite".

Des annonceurs bien préparés 

Si Google a reporté d’un an la suppression des cookies tiers de son navigateur, le géant du web n’en est pas moins préparé. Il organise depuis plusieurs mois le Privacy Sandbox, dont l'objectif est de développer des systèmes de tracking publicitaire plus respectueux de la vie privée. Weborama, comme beaucoup d’autres acteurs du web, participe à ce programme et observe que les annonceurs sont particulièrement bien renseignés sur l’arrêt des cookies tiers. “Tout le monde n’a pas conscience cependant de l’arrêt des ID universels qui permettent de suivre l'internaute à travers les sites qu’il consulte et les appareils qu’il utilise, via son adresse email” relève Mykim Chikli.

Et du contenu moins intrusif 

Dans l’optique de proposer du contenu publicitaire moins intrusif à l’internaute, Weborama développe grâce au rachat de l'entreprise AdWays, des contenus innovants. InVideo, c’est le nom de ce nouveau format, analyse un flux vidéo pour proposer de la publicité à l’internaute aux moments les plus opportuns. InVideo se révèle particulièrement approprié à de nombreuses diffusions en direct, comme les événements sportifs. Lorsque l’internaute regarde Roland-Garros par exemple, il ne souhaite pas avoir de pre-roll ou de mid-roll pendant un point décisif. “Avec InVideo, on analyse le player, on regarde le contexte, et on vous affiche une pub autour qui n’interrompt pas le match. C’est comme si vous aviez les bandeaux autour du court de tennis!” explique Mykim Chikli. L’internaute est alors libre de cliquer sur les bandeaux, interrompre le flux de la vidéo et revenir dessus. Une manière pour Weborama d’être plus respectueux des choix des internautes et de leur vie privée tout en proposant des formats innovants et impactants qui boostent les performances des campagnes.

Envie de nous partager vos insights ?
Profile picture for user VLpoutre
Victor
Lepoutre
Content Manager