Image
Article-Fivetran-HUBDAY-Data-Victor-Lepoutre

Fivetran : 7 practical best-practice tips to conceive modern data stacks

Par : Victor Lepoutre
11 May 2022
Temps de lecture : 6 min
Chapo

A modern data stack transforms raw data into precious insights. However, their design can be tedious without the use of a good method and the right tools. Veronica Zhai, Analyst Director of Fivetran, was previously an option trader for the J.P Morgan bank. She conceived the first Modern Data Stack. In the study published by Fivetran, she shares seven best practices to achieve a qualitative and durable result.

In partnership with
Body

Register for the HUBDAY Data & AI For Business on May 17th and 18th

Nouveau call-to-action


A Data Stack is a suite of tools that allows you to integrate data. In its modern version, most of those tools are integrated to the Cloud (or Cloud native), which enables the automatisation, the reduction of cost and using facility for the final users in all the life cycle of this data.

First tip : methodically design your data stack

To conceive your data stack in a efficient way, it is necessary to follow a precise framework, which Fivetran's study summarizes in 4 steps:

  1. Configure the data warehouse based on the Cloud :
    You have to study the different data warehouse offers, their scalability, and pricing models. The technical characteristics, programmation languages are also good examples to take in consideration.
  2. You will then have to connect the data warehouse you have chosen to a Business Intelligence (BI) Cloud Native tool. It will allow you a better visualization of your data, a user-friendly interface and facilitate the collaboration of the different professions.
  3. Choose your data pipeline to extract the data on your applications and operational systems and change them on your data warehouse. Here again, pipeline providers have different approaches that need to be compared according to your needs.
  4. Finally, choose the tools that will allow you to transform your data to produce exclusive insights and predict future data based on past data.

Second tip : avoid pitfalls when creating a modern Data Stack 

Veronica Zhai identifies several mistakes that can hinder companies' ability to use data effectively.  

According to her, companies often tend to maintain an expensive and high-maintenance on-premises storage infrastructure. The infrastructures on site do not adapt in high traffic, while on the Cloud stockage ressources or complementary calculation could be easily activated.

It is also advisable to avoid customizing your data pipeline yourself. This involves serious engineering challenges and mistakes can be made. Creating a "home-made" data pipeline is also very time consuming and laborious. Try to externalize this task and automate it as soon as possible.

Use ELT instead of ETL for your data integration. The Extract Load Transform automatically loads the data in a quasi-raw state so that it can be modeled by the analysts. This is much more convenient and preserves data integrity.

Finally, be disciplined in your data management. By integrating more and more data and using new tools. For example, it is useful to use guardrails that control and eliminate data assets that are no longer useful. This allows for more efficient searching in the data warehouse and minimizes errors.

Third tip : Use a frame to succeed your recruitments in the data field 

Successful recruiting for your data team consists of quickly hiring talent with the required technical skills. To do so, Veronica Zhai offers a multi-step selection process to help you achieve your goals. 

  1. First, consider testing your candidates' technical skills, especially advanced SQL skills.
  2.  In the second round of selections, test your candidates' execution skills. For example, ask them to write a 30-60 and 90-day plan and evaluate their business strategy. 
  3. You can then test their analytical skills by asking your candidates to present insights and visualizations from complex sample data. 
  4. Look for cultural fit and alignment with your company values. Prioritize new hires whose traits and abilities complement your team. When in doubt, consider making reference calls.

Finally, with the use of SQL for modeling and transformation, you can go without data engineers for a while. However, continue to build your team of analysts and consider hiring a data architect to optimize the overall system.

Fourth tip: the essential 180 days testing period to build a solid data base 

The first six months are crucial to prepare the field and your company's analytics efforts. First of all, a centralized data team should be created, attached to the manager or to a technical executive who makes the link with specialized teams such as product, sales or marketing analysts

By creating alliances between teams that already use analytics and those who don’t, you can help them to optimize their Data Integration and avoid the duplication of tasks. Finally, it is important to use the same performance indicators than the direction and ensure that they are reflected in business intelligence and business strategy. This could be revenue metrics, customer growth and churn, or the number of daily active users of your product.

Fith tip: manage your data team like a R&D team

Do not consider your data team as a simple technical support team, an engineer team or a product team, but more as a combination of the three. Indeed, the team must be composed with a product goal with client satisfaction as principal indicators.

Similarly, the team will need to operate with engineering principles: to be performant, it will need to invest at least 25% of its resources in building an easily navigable and scalable data infrastructure. Finally, the Analytics team must operate a customer-centric service.

 This team will be able to provide onboarding and ongoing support, as well as work with partner teams to resolve production issues and develop training materials for the final users. 

Sixth tip: use systemic thinking, a solution to data complexity

The complexity of companies’ data grows throughout the data life and management cycle. This is especially true for large organizations like J.P. Morgan, which have experienced numerous fusions and acquisitions and have had to integrate many different data-generating systems.

Systemic thinking allows us to simplify the organization of data by breaking down silos and centralizing data. First, it allows different teams to minimize the number of queries because they are all based on the same data. It is also an opportunity to implement Machine Learning algorithms to automate the update of this indicator and provide teams with real-time visibility. 

Seventh tip: Identify virtuous and vicious circles of information  

Thanks to quality data, you can also better illustrate your company's operations, particularly through "flywheels". These are virtuous (or vicious) circles that synthesizes the information flowing through your company. For example, a good understanding of your customers will allow you to obtain a superior quality product, which will promote customer satisfaction and increase your customer base.

These flywheels can be assembled into causal loop diagrams.  This allows you to illustrate even more precisely the cause and effect links between your company's operations.

Causal loop diagrams allow you to present in one place the different parameters that act on your company and its activities. You can therefore more easily identify, one by one, the areas in which you can gain in competitiveness. The data will allow you to quantify the different elements of your operations. You will therefore have a more precise vision of your resources and will be able to highlight your results.

This thinking about the use of data can truly revolutionize the manner in which we operate," says Veronica Zhai. It can have a profoundly positive impact on the business world and help professionals reach a higher level of awareness.


Meet Fivetran at the HUBDAY Data & AI For Business, on May 17th and 18th

Nouveau call-to-action

Envie de nous partager vos insights ?
Profile picture for user VLpoutre
Victor
Lepoutre
Content Manager
Most read

Image
Article-Fivetran-HUBDAY-Data-Victor-Lepoutre

Fivetran: 7 conseils pratiques pour concevoir des Modern Data Stacks

Par : Victor Lepoutre
11 mai 2022
Temps de lecture : 7 min
Chapo

Une Data Stack moderne transforme les données brutes en insights précieux. Leur conception peut cependant se révéler fastidieuse sans l’utilisation d’une bonne méthode et des bons outils. Veronica Zhai, directrice de l’Analytics chez Fivetran, est une ex-trader d’option pour la banque J.P Morgan. Elle a conçu leur première Data Stack Moderne. Dans L'étude publiée par Fivetran, elle partage sept meilleures pratiques pour arriver à un résultat qualitatif et durable.

En partenariat avec
Body

Inscrivez-vous au HUBDAY Data & AI For Business les 17 et 18 mai prochain

Nouveau call-to-action


Une Data Stack est une suite d’outils qui permet d’intégrer des données. Dans sa version moderne, ces outils sont très souvent intégrés au Cloud (ou Cloud native), ce qui permet l’automatisation, la réduction des coûts et la facilité d’utilisation pour les utilisateurs finaux tout au long du cycle de vie de la donnée. 

1er conseil: concevoir méthodiquement sa data stack

Pour concevoir sa data stack de manière efficace, il convient de suivre un cadre précis, que l’étude de Fivetran résume en 4 étapes: 

  1. Configurer le data warehouse basé sur le Cloud :
    Il faut bien étudier les différentes offres de data warehouse, leur évolutivité, et les modèles de tarification. Les caractéristiques techniques, comme les langages de programmation et d’autres caractéristiques sont également à prendre en compte. 

  2. Connecter ensuite un outil de Business Intelligence (BI) Cloud native à votre data warehouse. Ils permettent une meilleure visualisation des données, une interface conviviale et facilitent la collaboration des différents métiers. 

  3. Choisir sa data pipeline pour extraire les données de vos applications et systèmes opérationnels et les charger dans le data warehouse. Là encore, les fournisseurs de pipelines ont des approches différentes qu’ils faut comparer en fonction de ses besoins. 

  4. Enfin, choisir des outils qui permettront de transformer les données pour ensuite produire des insights et de prédire les données futures sur la base de données passées. 

2e conseil: éviter les pièges lors de la création d’une moderne Data Stack 

Veronica Zhai, relève plusieurs erreurs qui peuvent entraver la capacité des entreprises à utiliser efficacement les données. 

Selon elle, les entreprises ont souvent tendance à conserver une infrastructure de stockage sur site, coûteuse et qui nécessite une maintenance importante. Les infrastructures sur site ne s'adaptent pas non plus en période de fort trafic, alors que sur le cloud des ressources de stockage ou de calcul supplémentaires peuvent être activées facilement. 

Il est également conseillé d’éviter de personnaliser vous-même votre Data Pipeline. Cela implique de sérieux défis d’ingénierie et des erreurs peuvent être commises. La création d’un Data Pipeline “fait maison” est  aussi très chronophage et laborieux. Essayez donc d’externaliser cette tâche et automatisez la dès que possible. 

Privilégiez l’ELT plutôt que l’ETL lors de votre intégration de données. L’Extract Load Transform, permet de charger automatiquement les données dans un état quasi brut pour qu’elles soient modélisées par les analystes. C’est donc beaucoup plus pratique et cela préserve l’intégrité des données. 

Enfin faites preuve de discipline dans votre gestion des données. En intégrant toujours plus de données et en utilisant de nouveaux outils. Il est utile, par exemple, d’utiliser des garde-fous qui contrôlent et éliminent les actifs de données qui ne sont plus utiles. Cela permet une recherche plus efficace dans le data warehouse et minimise les erreurs. 

3e Conseil Utilisez un cadre pour réussir vos recrutements dans le domaine des données 

Réussir ses recrutements pour étoffer son équipe donnée, consiste à embaucher rapidement des talents ayant les compétences techniques requises. Pour cela, Veronica Zhai vous propose une sélection en plusieurs étapes pour arriver à vos fins. 

  1. D’abord, pensez à tester les compétences techniques de vos candidats, et en particulier les compétences SQL avancées. 
  2. Lors de la deuxième sélection, testez les compétences d’exécution de vos candidats. Demandez-leur par exemple de rédiger un plan sur 30-60 et 90 jours et évaluez leur stratégie commerciale. 
  3. Vous pourrez ensuite vérifier leur capacité d’analyse en demandant à vos candidats de présenter des insights et des visualisations à partir d’échantillon complexe de données. 
  4. Recherchez l’adéquation culturelle et l’alignement sur les valeurs de votre entreprise. Donnez la priorité aux nouvelles recrues dont les traits et les capacités complètent votre équipe. En cas de doute, pensez à passer des appels de référence. 

Enfin, grâce à l’utilisation de SQL pour la modélisation et la transformation, vous pourrez vous passer de data engineers pendant un certain temps. Continuez cependant de constituer votre équipe d’analystes et envisagez d’engager un architecte de données pour optimiser le système global. 

4e conseil: la période test des 180 jours essentielle pour construire une base solide 

Les six premiers mois sont cruciaux pour préparer le terrain et les efforts d’Analytics de votre entreprise. Il convient premièrement de créer une équipe donnée centralisée, rattachée au dirigeant ou à un cadre technique d’un côté, elle fait le lien avec les équipes spécialisées comme les analystes produits, ventes ou marketing.

En créant des alliances entre les équipes qui utilisent déjà l’Analytics, vous pourrez les aider à automatiser leur Data Intégration et éviter la duplication des tâches. Enfin, il est important d’utiliser les mêmes indicateurs de performance que la direction et s’assurer qu’on les retrouve dans la business intelligence et la stratégie commerciale. Cela peut être les indicateurs du chiffre d’affaires, la croissance de la clientèle et du taux d’attrition, ou encore le nombre d’utilisateurs actifs quotidiens de votre produit. 

5e conseil: gérer son équipe data comme une équipe R&D

Ne considérez pas votre équipe chargée des données comme une simple équipe support, une équipe ingénierie ou encore une équipe produit mais comme une combinaison des trois. En effet, l’équipe doit être composée avec un objectif produit avec comme indicateurs principaux l’utilisation et la satisfaction client.

De même l’équipe devra opérer avec des principes d’ingénierie: pour être performante, elle devra investir au moins 25% de ses ressources dans la mise en place d’une infrastructure de données facilement navigable et évolutive.

Enfin, l’équipe Analytics doit opérer un service centré sur le client. Ce service pourra assurer un accueil et une assistance continue, et travailler avec les équipes partenaires pour résoudre les problèmes de production et développer des supports de formation à destination des utilisateurs finaux. 

6e conseil: utiliser la pensée systémique, une solution à la complexité des données 

La complexité des données d’entreprise s’amplifie tout au long du cycle de vie et de gestion de ces données. Un fait particulièrement avéré dans les grandes entreprises comme J.P Morgan qui ont connu de nombreuses fusions et acquisitions et a dû intégrer de nombreux systèmes différents produisant des données.

La pensée systémique permet de simplifier sensiblement l’organisation des données, en décomposant les silos et en centralisant les données. Cela permet d’abord aux différentes équipes de minimiser le nombre de requêtes car elles se basent toutes sur les mêmes données. C’est aussi l’occasion de mettre en place des algorithmes de Machine Learning pour automatiser la mise à jour de cet indicateur et fournir aux équipes une visibilité en temps réel

7e conseil: Identifier les cercles vertueux et vicieux de l’information  

Grâce à des données de qualité, vous pouvez également mieux illustrer les opérations de votre entreprise notamment grâce à des “volants d’inertie”. Ce sont des cercles vertueux (ou vicieux) qui schématisent l’information circulant dans votre entreprise. Par exemple, une bonne compréhension de vos clients vous permettra d’obtenir un produit de qualité supérieure, ce qui favorisera la satisfaction client et augmentera votre clientèle. 

Il est possible d’assembler ces volants d’inertie dans des diagrammes de boucles causales.  Cela permet d’illustrer encore plus précisément les liens de cause à effet entre les opérations de votre entreprise. 

Les diagrammes de boucles causales vous permettent de présenter en un seul endroit les différents paramètres qui agissent sur votre entreprise et ses activités. Vous pourrez donc plus facilement identifier, un par un, les domaines dans lesquels vous pourrez gagner en compétitivité. Les données vous permettront de quantifier les différents éléments de vos opérations. Vous aurez donc une vision plus précise de vos ressources et pourrez mettre en avant vos résultats. 

Cette réflexion sur l’utilisation de la donnée peut réellement révolutionner la manière dont nous fonctionnons, affirme Veronica Zhai. Elle peut avoir un impact profondément positif sur le monde des entreprises et aider les professionnels à atteindre un niveau de conscience supérieur. 


Retrouvez Fivetran au HUBDAY Data & AI For Business, les 17 et 18 mai prochain 

Nouveau call-to-action

Envie de nous partager vos insights ?
Profile picture for user VLpoutre
Victor
Lepoutre
Content Manager