Video time
10:23 min

Accor : how to place CSR in the heart of your business model ?

Par : Jérémie Jakubowicz
19 May 2022
Temps de visionnage10:23 min

These last years, CSR has taken a preponderant place in the companies’ business strategies to integrate social and environmental issues. How to integrate CSR in your business model ? Brune Poirson, Chief Sustainability Officer for Accor Hotels gives us the best practices on the Sustainable Leaders Forum’s stage.

The Chief Sustainability Officer reminds us of the 3 key issues to put sustainable development at the heart of the business model of a company as big as Accor. At first, a prerequisite : sustainability has to be in the center of all negotiations within the company, with a dedicated professional within the various comex.

Three major principles are essential today to implement sustainability in the business strategy of a company: 

  1. the necessity to share a common diagnostic, based on scientific facts rather than preconceived opinions;
  2. the accountability: it takes into account the alignment of financial and non-financial performance indicators, and implies a total transparency and the honest share of available data;
  3. the radicality: sustainability mustn’t be seen in a negative prism but a way to offer a different experience.
At Accor, our hotels are more than hotels! We hope to transform them in coworking spaces, hosting places for women victims of violences… We are changing the functionality of these places to participate in the transformation of a neighborhood.

- Brune Poirson, Chief Sustainability Officer (Accor)  

To conclude, Brune Poirson comes back on the importance of social responsibility. According to her, there isn’t enough importance given to its issues as it seems of lesser importance than climate change. “We need to integrate society at the start of the recruitment process” she adds.

We are in a social volcano in an unpredictable world. If a company wishes to continue working in the best conditions, it needs to participate in social progress as these issues can’t only be the responsibility of our governance.

- Brune Poirson, Chief Sustainability Officer (Accor)  

Social problematics figures in high place for Accor, Brune Poirson insists on the necessity to work with public services to be able to measure in France more social indicators. She also mentioned the importance of biodiversity as part of the carbon issue. Like social issues, all companies should place biodiversity in the heart of their business model.

Video time
10:23 min

Accor : Comment mettre la RSE au cœur de son Business Model ?

Par : Jérémie Jakubowicz
19 mai 2022
Temps de visionnage10:23 min

Ces dernières années, la RSE a pris une place prépondérante dans la stratégie des entreprises afin d’intégrer les nouveaux enjeux sociétaux et environnementaux. Comment intégrer la RSE au sein de son Business Model ? Brune Poirson, Chief Sustainability Officer au sein du groupe Accor donne les best practices sur la scène du Sustainable Leaders Forum. 

En propos liminaire, Brune Poirson, Chief Sustainability Officer d’Accor revient sur les 3 enjeux clés pour mettre le développement durable au cœur du business model d’une entreprise comme Accor. Un prérequis tout d’abord: le développement durable doit être au cœur des négociations au sein des entreprises avec une personne dédiée au sein des différents comex. 

Elle met en avant trois principes essentiels à l’implémentation du développement durable dans la stratégie business d’une entreprise:  

  1.  la nécessité de partager un diagnostic commun en s’appuyant sur des faits scientifiques plutôt que sur des opinions préconçues. 
  2.  la redevabilité: elle tient compte de l’alignement des indicateurs de performances financiers et extra financiers, et implique une transparence totale et du partage sincère des données. 
  3.  la radicalité: Elle  ne doit pas être vue comme un élément négatif mais comme un moyen de proposer une expérience différente. 
Chez Accor, nos hôtels ce sont bien plus que des hôtels! Nous souhaitons en faire des espaces de coworking mais également des centres d'accueil pour les femmes victimes de violences… nous changeons la fonction des lieux afin de participer à la transformation d’un quartier.

- Brune Poirson, Chief Sustainability Officer (Accor)  

Pour conclure, Brune Poirson revient sur l’importance du volet social. Selon elle, il n’est pas suffisamment mis en avant par les entreprises car il est relégué au second plan par rapport aux questions environnementales . “il faut intégrer la dimension sociale dès le début dans les processus de recrutement” rappelle t-elle. 

Nous sommes sur un volcan social dans un monde imprévisible. Si une entreprise souhaite continuer à travailler dans les meilleures conditions, elle doit pouvoir participer au progrès social car ça ne peut pas être seulement du ressort des politiques.

- Brune Poirson, Chief Sustainability Officer (Accor)  

La question sociale est donc majeure chez Accor, Brune Poirson insiste sur la nécessité de travailler avec les pouvoirs publics pour pouvoir mesurer en France davantage d’indicateurs sociaux. Elle insiste également sur l’importance de la biodiversité comme pendant de la question carbone. Toutes les entreprises doivent mettre la biodiversité au coeur de leur business model.